WAVERLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING - 10 MAY 2016

11. LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND HOUSING ACT 1989 LOCAL GOVERNMENT (COMMITTEES AND POLITICAL GROUPS) REGULATIONS 1990

- 11.1 The Council is under a duty to review the allocation of seats on the principal Committees, namely the two Overview and Scrutiny Committees and the Regulatory Committees, i.e. the Licensing and Regulatory Committee and the Joint Planning Committee, at, or as soon as practicable after, the Annual Meeting of the Council. Calculations giving the allocation of seats are set out at paragraph 11.3 below.
- 11.2 The Conservative Group and the Farnham Residents' Group are both registered under the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. There is one Independent Member of the Council. The political breakdown of the Council is now as follows:-

Conservative Group	Farnham Residents' Group	Independent
53	3	1

- 11.3 To calculate the allocation of seats on principal committees, it is necessary to proceed as follows:-
 - (i) Total number of seats on all relevant committees 72
 - (ii) Proportion that each registered political group forms of the total membership of the Authority in accordance with the above registration:-

Conservative Group	Farnham Residents' Group	Independent	
92.98 %	5.26 %	1.75 %	

(iii) Apply proportions to the relevant committees to arrive at a total share of seats:-

Conservative Group	Farnham Residents' Group	Independent
67 (by rounding)	4 (by rounding)	1 (by rounding)

(iv) Apply proportions to each principal committee to give a provisional entitlement:-

Committee	No. of Seats	Conservative Group	Farnham Residents' Group	Independent
Overview and Scrutiny:	. –			-
1. Corporate	15	14	1	0
2. Community	15	14	1	0
Others:				
4. Licensing & Regulatory Committee	12	11	1	0
5. Joint Planning Committee	23	21	1	1
6. Audit	7	7	0	0
	<u>72</u>	<u>67</u>	<u>4</u>	<u>1</u>
Standards Panel	8	8	1*	

* At the Annual Council Meeting on 13 May 2014, it was agreed that one additional place on the Standards Panel be offered on an ex-oficio basis to the Principal Opposition Group Leader.

11.4 It is necessary to re-appoint the Waverley members on the Surrey County Council Local Committee for Waverley (serviced by the County Council) on which Waverley has an entitlement of nine seats. This appointment is not subject to the political proportionality calculations.

<u>Committee</u>	<u>No. of</u> <u>Seats</u>	<u>Conservative</u> <u>Group</u>	<u>Farnham</u> <u>Residents'</u> <u>Group</u>	Independent
SCC Local Committee	9	9	0	0

11.5 It is also necessary to reappoint to the four Area Planning Committees, the entitlements for each being as follows:-

	<u>Committee</u>	<u>No. of</u> <u>Seats</u>	<u>Conservative</u> <u>Group</u>	<u>Farnham</u> <u>Residents'</u> <u>Group</u>	Independent
1.	Central Area Planning	13	13	0	0
2.	Eastern Area Planning	12	12	0	0
3.	Southern Area Planning	10	10	0	0
4.	Western Area Planning	13	10	2	1

[NB. The number of seats on each of the Area Planning Committees listed above <u>excludes</u> the additional place taken by the Chairman or Vice-Chairman.]

- 11.6 In addition to the above Committees, there is also the Emergency Advisory Group currently comprising four members and the Appeals Panel comprising four members from a pool of 12. The proposed composition of these Committees is set out at <u>Annexe 1</u>. (Appointments to Special Interest Groups and to Outside Bodies will be dealt with at the Executive meeting on 7 June 2016).
- 11.7 Members of the Licensing and Regulatory Committee are required to agree the constitution of the Licensing (General Purposes) Sub-Committee and the Licensing Act Sub-Committees, details of which are set out at <u>Annexe 2</u>.

Recommendation

It is recommended that

- 1. the principal Committees and the Area Planning Committees, together with the Surrey County Council Local Committee, Standards Panel, Appeals Panel and Emergency Advisory Group for the year 2016/2017, be constituted as indicated in Annexe 1; and
- 2. [Licensing and Regulatory Committee members only] the Licensing (General Purposes) and Licensing Act Sub-Committees be constituted as indicated in Annexe 2.

- - - - - -